Why I Favor HR 676   Leave a comment

Frequently I read or hear “I work hard for my money and I want to keep as much as possible to spend, donate, or manage how I choose” or something to that effect. I can readily relate to that as, I too, work hard for what I have and the money that I earn. This is one of the primary reasons that I support HR 676.

If HR 676 (single-payer healthcare financing, Expanded and Improved Medicare for All, a national government financed healthcare insurance plan) were to be enacted into law over 97% of us would be able to keep more of the money that we work so hard to earn. Yes, our taxes would be increased. However most of us who have private for-profit healthcare insurance would save more with the elimination of insurance premiums, co-pays, deductibles and other out-of-pocket healthcare expenses than we would pay out in the increased tax.

This is also true for businesses that currently provide healthcare benefits for their employees/families. Businesses would not be responsible for providing healthcare benefits and the increased tax that they would pay would be less than the share of the premiums that they are currently paying.

While I would benefit personally from HR 676, I also favor it because we would no longer have so many who are un or under insured who are going without the medical care that they need. We would no longer see families going into bankruptcy/foreclosure due to medical bills.

I would encourage anyone who has reservations about this to do their own research. One can do a web-search for HR 676 and find a great deal of information. There is even a PDF copy of HR 676 available on-line.

Posted August 31, 2013 by terryflowersblog in Health Care

Leave a Reply

